ANZ photographers take home photography gongs at the Sony Alpha Awards

The Sony Alpha Awards, an annual competition celebrating the best in Australian and New Zealand photography, has named this year’s prize winning artists and pieces.

The evening was divided up into a number of categories, covering a range of styles and genres, each selected by Sony Global Digital Imaging Ambassadors and renowned shooters in their own right, Craig Parry and Mark Galer. The full list of category winners is as follows:

  • Abstract: Jingshu Zhu
  • Editorial: David Sickerdick
  • Landscape: Grant Galbraith
  • Macro: Chris Cope
  • Nature: Robyn Waterhouse
  • Sport: Kian Bullock
  • Youth: Keeley Watson

But it was Auckland-based photographer Ilan Wittenberg in the Portait category, taking home the grand prize for his piece, pictured below.

Wittenburg takes home $3,000 worth of Sony camera gear and a trip to Tanzania. Congratulations to all of the winners.

Correction: An earlier version of this article incorrectly listed Blake Fitzgerald as the Macro category winner as a result of incorrect information from PR. That’s on us, we should have triple checked the the list of winners before running the piece. The actual winner of the Macro category was Chris Cope and we’ve updated the piece to reflect this.

David Smith

Games and technology editor, Dungeons and Dragons fanboy and your new best friend. You can reach me at with news tips, pitches, press releases, invites, review content and more.