Marvel’s slate of Stage 3 MCU films gets shuffled as an Ant-Man sequel is confirmed

With Stage 2 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) now wrapped up thanks to Ant-Man, fans are eagerly anticipating the start of Stage 3 – which is proving to be a mammoth undertaking. Some 11 films now are confirmed for their slate, and at this week’s New York Comic-Con, Marvel have added one more film to this list, shuffling their schedule around to fit it in.

The film is also the first in the MCU to feature a double act in its title – it’s Ant-Man and the Wasp and it’s set for release in July 2017. The film is of course the sequel to this year’s moderately successful (by MCU standards) Ant-Man, and its scheduling means that three MCU films will make it into cinemas every year from 2017 until Phase 3 is due to end in 2019. Overkill? Possibly, but it’s got Marvel fans excited all the same!

The full list is below, with the new dates and the addition of three “TBA” titles that are now assumed to be the start of Phase 4.

Captain America: Civil War – May 6, 2016
Doctor Strange – November 4, 2016
Guardians of the Galaxy 2 – May 5, 2017
Spider-Man – July 28, 2017
Thor: Ragnarok – November 3, 2017
Black Panther – February 16, 2018
The Avengers: Infinity War Part 1 – May 4, 2018
Ant-Man and the Wasp – July 6, 2018
Captain Marvel – March 8, 2019
The Avengers: Infinity War Part 2 – May 3, 2019
Inhumans – July 12, 2019.
Untitled Marvel Studios Film – May 1, 2020
Untitled Marvel Studios Film – July 10, 2020
Untitled Marvel Studios Film – November 6, 2020

All these release dates are US, though simultaneous Australian releases are assumed.