Spanish Film Festival Launches In Sydney

Thursday, 31st March saw the official launch of this year’s Spanish Film Festival, which will run nationally throughout April, starting with Sydney from Tuesday, 12th April. Screening exclusively at Palace Cinemas around Australia, this year’s program includes 32 films and 8 short films from Spain, in a series called Inspiracion del Corazon.  

Festival highlights include:

Truman

The winner of the 2016 Goya Awards for Best Film, Director, Actor, Supporting Actor & Screenplay and the winner of the 2016 Gaudí Awards: Best Film, Director, Actor, Supporting Actor & Actress and Screenplay, this film was also previewed at the launch at the Palace Verona Cinema in Paddington (Sydney) on Thursday 31st March.  The film follows two childhood friends Julián (Ricardo Darín) and Tomás (Javier Cámara), following Julián’s diagnosis of a terminal illness, and his efforts to find a suitable home for his dog, Truman.

A Cambio De Nada (Nothing in Return)

Spanish director Daniel Guzmán’s autobiographical film has also won awards at the Málaga Film Festival and Goya Awards (Best New Director, Best New Actor).  This coming-of-age drama follows 16-year-old Dario as he deals with family, friends and life lessons that will change him forever.  Guzmán will also be in Sydney (Sunday 11th April) and Melbourne (Friday 15th April) for Q&A sessions with the audience.  

Isla Bonita

Described as an “uninhibited, improvised, cheerful and dazzling movie” by Cineuropa, the film follows divorced man Fer, who takes an impulsive trip to the dazzling Spanish island of Menorca.  Moviegoers attending the screening on Wednesday 20th April at the Palace Norton Street cinema in Sydney will be treated to white sangria, Ola Lola’s authentic pinxtos recipes and Tropicante SoundSistema’s Live DJ Show.

The Spanish Film Festival will screen in the following cities/venues:

SYDNEY

Tues 12 April – Sun 1 May, PALACE NORTON ST & PALACE VERONA

MELBOURNE

Wed 13 April – Sun 1 May, THE ASTOR THEATRE, PALACE CINEMA COMO, KINO CINEMAS & PALACE WESTGARTH

CANBERRA

Tues 19 April – Sun 8 May, PALACE ELECTRIC CINEMA

BRISBANE

Tues 19 April – Sun 8 May, PALACE BARRACKS & PALACE CENTRO

PERTH
Thurs 21 April – Wed 11 May, CINEMA PARADISO & LUNA ON SX

ADELAIDE

Wed 4 May – Sun 22 May, PALACE NOVA EASTEND

HOBART

Wed 4 May – Sun 15 May, STATE CINEMA